Local volunteers recognized at Good As Gold Awards Ceremony

The University of Illinois Springfield, Junior League of Springfield and United Way of Central Illinois honored more than 60 Sangamon County volunteers and businesses during the 11th annual Good as Gold Ceremony held at the UIS Student Union on Wednesday, April 24, 2019.

The Good as Gold Ceremony was started in 2008 to honor people, businesses and organizations who freely give their time and talents to make Sangamon County a better place to live. Among this year’s winners were many of United Way’s Corporate Partners including:

Good As Gold Honor Roll (151+ employees)
Bank of Springfield
Horace Mann
Marine Bank
Memorial Health System
Springfield Electric Lighting and Design/Springfield Electric Supply Company
Wells Fargo
Good As Gold Honor Roll (51-150 employees)
Butler Funeral Homes
Kerber, Eck & Braeckel

Business Honor Roll – Golden Distinction Award
Butler Funeral Homes
Marine Bank

Heart of Gold Award
Carl Affrunti – Noonan’s True Value – Former Community Impact Volunteer
Andrea Fuchs – Wells Fargo – Multiple UW Volunteer Positions
Sara Goleman – Merrill Lynch – Financial Stability Vision Council
Tammy Gilchrese – Security Bank – Multiple UW Volunteer Positions
Jamie Kuhlmann – BUNN – Multiple UW Volunteer Positions

On behalf of our team at United Way, congratulations to our volunteers and all of this year’s winners.
Heart of Gold Volunteers

  • Carl M. Affrunti-Rotary Club of Springfield South
  • Judith Barringer-King’s Daughters Organization
  • Michael Blitstein-Compass for Kids
  • Stacey Ann Bredemeyer-GIRLS on a Mission
  • Connie Butts-Central Illinois Foodbank
  • Thomas J. Byerly-Memorial Medical Center
  • Nancy Canady-Compass for Kids
  • Cindy Denby-King’s Daughters Organization
  • Andrea Fuchs-United Way of Central Illinois
  • Dr. Sam Gaines, MD-Central Counties Health Centers, Inc.
  • Tammy Gilchrese-United Way of Central Illinois
  • Sarah Goleman-Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc
  • Tiffani Graham-Girl Scouts of Central Illinois
  • Carol Gruwell-The Matthew Project
  • Diane Hayes-Habitat for Humanity of Sangamon County
  • Jim Keys-Hospital Sisters Mission Outreach
  • Rita Keys-Hospital Sisters Mission Outreach
  • Jamie Kuhlmann-Girls on the Run of Central Illinois
  • Rena Leggitt-Holy Family Food Pantry
  • Paul Layton-Big Brothers Big Sisters
  • Patricia Leamon-Springfield High School, Springfield Public School District 186
  • Rochell Logan-Catholic Charities St John’s Breadline
  • Megan Mitchell-Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Illinois
  • Robert J. Moore-Memorial Medical Center
  • Sharon Nichols-Habitat for Humanity of Sangamon County
  • Lori Payne-Mullett-Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Illinois
  • April Poole-First Church of the Brethren
  • Matthew Scrivano-Lincoln Home National Historic Site -National Park Service
  • Beth Sonneborn-Children’s Miracle Network at HSHS St. John’s Children’s Hospital
  • Eileen G. Tepatti-Rotary Club of Springfield South
  • Joann Wente-Catholic Charities St John’s Breadline

Youth Volunteer Award
Kylie McMillan
Emily Monroe
Gwen Rees
Athena Try-Distinguished Youth Volunteer

Star Student Award
Sonia Kenney

Star Staff Award
Angela Try

Organization Agent of Change Award
King’s Daughters Organization

Distinguished Volunteer Award Nominees
Barbara Walker
Cheryl Garvin
Joe O’Beirne
Mark Pence

Distinguished Volunteer Award Winner
Donna Jean Gibney